They called me a cow.

I was weaving through Kamwokya’s mid-morning traffic today, trying to get from one side of the road to the other before the cars started moving in a never ending stream when a boda guy almost knocked me down. Instead of going on his way, grateful that he hadn’t had an accident, he turned his head and yelled, “You stupid woman! Crossing the road as if you are a cow!” and other things that I didn’t hear.

I was angry and embarrassed and I mumbled an expletive at his back, frustrated that he’d go about his life not knowing what I’d thought about him in that moment.

This experience reminded me of a link that I found on Ukamaka Olisakwe’s wall about three people’s experiences in Nigerian traffic. It’s really cool. Read that post here.

I’d really love to do a Ugandan version.

If you’re interested in helping me turn this into a reality, please leave a comment or send this writer chick a message with the most dramatic/ dumbfounding/crazy/annoying/funny experience you’ve while using public transport in Uganda.

If they are many, I’ll turn everything into a Stiletto point. How do you see?

Also, mwanablaadi, all of the fun is over at Apenyo’s place. Go and follow her also.

 

Peace yo.

 

About Miz. Kyrte

I read, I write, I love. My favorite quote is: We're all going to die, all of us, what a circus! That alone should make us love each other but it doesn't. We are terrorized and flattened by trivialities, we are eaten up by nothing. Bukowski, baby! Extremes ;-)

3 responses to “They called me a cow.

  1. Pingback: I’ve been Liebstered! Bazinga! | Bastet and Sekhmet

  2. I’ve really enjoyed your post and would therefore like to nominate you for the Liebster Award! For information: http://bastetandsekhmet.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/ive-been-liebstered-bazinga/

  3. Aloro yusuf

    Apenyo apenyo, i think your the best thing that has happened to short live life experience stories in our banana republic. I like reading any story i come across but can’t write one. Keep it up sister.

Holla!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this bombastic blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,737 other followers

The stuff I write about

My friends

Rock My Run Blog

Running, Music, DJ's and the awesome combination of the three.

Media Diversified

Tackling the lack of diversity in UK media and the ubiquity of whiteness

waka-about

People. Places. Pleasure

In Her mind,His and Mine

La vie éclectique

Idle Mutterings

Long tales and long noses

The Museum of Ridiculously Interesting Things

a collection of ridiculously interesting art, objects, ideas, and history

The Frying Pun

Grab the bull by the ears, drop it into the frying pun...oh yeah, it is pun, not pan. We are here to give reading a new meaning. Every word comes straight from our dictionary. This is a totally punny place to be!

Melissa Kiguwa

"I dream too much, and I don't write enough, and I'm trying to find God everywhere. I want to find God in the morning and the tired hands of dust. At the mouth of a river and down by its feet." {Anis Mojgani}

I Am Begging My Mother Not To Read This Blog

and other tales from a twentysomething disaster

Whatever

LOST IN PACIFIC TIME

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

OJARA

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

straightqueer

everyday living

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where style has no age or size

News-Hapa

Uganda's most authentic rural news. Contributors are rural citizens

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,737 other followers

