In Cognito.

Meet me in Cognito, baby.

In Cognito we’ll have nothing to hide.

Let’s go incognito, honey,

And let the world believe that we’ve died.

 

Meet me in Cognito, baby,

Of course we’ll have to color our hair.

The best thing about life in Cognito

Is that everybody’s nobody there.

 

Meet me in Cognito, darling,

Sure, some may think that it’s rash,

But you’ll look chic incognito

With your fake nose and Groucho mustache.

 

Meet me in Cognito, baby,

We’ll soon leave our pasts behind us.

The present is always a mystery,

As the future never fails to remind us.

 

Once we’re alone in Cognito,

We’ll remove all of our clothes very fast,

But though we be naked as jaybirds,

At no time will we take off our masks.

 

Cinderella went incognito,

And it’s said that she had a ball.

It’s always midnight in Cognito

By the black clock at the end of the hall.

 

We’re destined to be clandestine,

Incognito is our very last hope.

I’ll meet you where the sun don’t shine,

With a fake I.D. and some dope.

 

So do join me in Cognito,

You know that I’ll never tell.

We’ll sneak in the back door of Heaven

And stroll unnoticed through Hell.

 

Incognito

Incognito

There, every day’s a surprise.

Incognito

Incognito

Where truth tells all the best lies.

 

(Those who travel in Cognito-

Their very lives can depend on a hunch.

They eat intuition for breakfast

And sip cold paranoia at lunch.)

 

If you won’t meet me in Cognito, Baby,

I’m apt to go out of my head.

But if you really can’t handle incognito

Meet me in Absentia, instead.

 

The One Who Is Missing is missing,

He can’t run but He certainly can hide.

His ghost car is parked in Cognito,

Do you think He might give us a ride?

 

You play the game incognito,

You risk paying a very stiff price.

You’ll bet the ranch on Number 13,

Though that number is not on the dice.

 

No news is good news in Cognito,

Addresses are damn hard to find.

The queen of spades runs the mailroom

And all the postmen are legally blind.

 

Just because you’re naked

Doesn’t mean you’re sexy,

Just because you’re cynical

Doesn’t mean you’re cool.

You may tell the greatest lies

And wear a brilliant disguise

But you can’t escape the eyes

Of the one who sees right through you.

 

In the end what will prevail

Is your passion not your tale,

For love is the Holy Grail,

Even in Cognito.

 

So better listen to me, sister,

And pay close attention, mister:

It’s very good to play the game,

Amuse the gods, avoid the pain,

But don’t trust fortune, don’t trust fame,

Your real self doesn’t know your name

And in that we’re all the same:

We’re all incognito.

TOM ROBBINS.

TOM.F.ROBBINS

Somebody had better be guarding that man. I’m watching . This rape i’ve planned just might go beyond intellectual sheitz.

*sigh*

About Miz. Kyrte

I read, I write, I love. My favorite quote is: We're all going to die, all of us, what a circus! That alone should make us love each other but it doesn't. We are terrorized and flattened by trivialities, we are eaten up by nothing. Bukowski, baby! Extremes ;-)

Posted by in Uncategorized

Permalink 5 Comments

5 responses to “In Cognito.

  1. wherepinjoshide

    Stalking your blog for wanton walala… not finding… sulk. oba beam me up scotty

  2. wherepinjoshide

    I found her. I love her. I want to marry her. Also you small small. But her first! Threesome!

  3. Mimi

    Shit, he’s brilliant. With every quirky line i read i kept thinking “I hate her, i hate her so bad, how can she be this gooood… I want to rip out her mind and steal her ideas before she’s aware of them…etc,etc more green eyed monster alter egoing…” So imagine my joy when I reached that beautiful end and incognito wasn’t yours 🙂 makes it all much easier to bear. hehehe

  4. Well lucky me. For a moment there i had you worshiping at the alter of my mind. Undeserved worship feels bombastic, hehe.
    Tom Robbins is the maaaan.

    Also, come now. Don’t be pretending that you don’t want to do bad things to my mind anyway 🙂

Holla!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this bombastic blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,747 other followers

The stuff I write about

My friends

Rock My Run Blog

Exercise, Music, Data and the Awesome Combination of the Three

Media Diversified

Analysis. Stories. Aesthetics. By and from the diaspora.

waka-about

Art. Travel. Africa

Idle Mutterings

Long tales and long noses

The Museum of Ridiculously Interesting Things

a collection of ridiculously interesting art, objects, ideas, and history

The Frying Pun

Grab the bull by the ears, drop it into the frying pun...oh yeah, it is pun, not pan. We are here to give reading a new meaning. Every word comes straight from our dictionary. This is a totally punny place to be!

Melissa Kiguwa

poet. wild womyn. maverick. radical feminist.

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

OJARA

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

straightqueer

everyday living

grownandcurvywoman.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

News-Hapa

Uganda's most authentic rural news. Contributors are rural citizens

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

